Taj Mahal, Fatehpur Sikri In UP To Be Developed As ‘Iconic Sites’

LUCKNOW/NEW DELHI  || The Union Ministry of Tourism has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country for development as Iconic Tourism Sites and would be developing them to increase footfalls, union minister of state for tourism Prahlad Singh Patel has said.

The sites include Taj Mahal and Fatehpur Sikri in Uttar Pradesh while the others are Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra), Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort & Qutub Minar (Delhi).

Other sites include Colva (Goa), Amer Fort (Rajasthan), Somnath & Dholavira (Gujarat), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh), Hampi (Karnataka), Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu), Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala) and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar).

The Ministry shall be developing the above sites in collaboration with the Central Ministries, State Governments and Local Bodies, in a holistic manner, with focus on issues concerning connectivity to the destination, better facilities and experience for the tourists at the site, skill development, involvement of local community, promotion and branding and by bringing private investment.

Related posts

Leave a Reply