Bye Elections Schedule For Two Rajya Sabha Seats From UP Announced

LUCKNOW || The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced the schedule for the bye polls for two Rajya Sabha sets from Uttar Pradesh, According to an official statement of the poll panel, the bye poll has been necessitated due to the resignation of Surendra Singh Nagar and Sanjay Seth, both members of the Samajwadi Party (SP).

They quit the upper House of the Parliament and after also resigning from the SP, had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The notification for these bye polls will be issued on September 12 while the scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done on September 13.

The last date of withdrawal, the poll panel said, would be September 16 while the voting for these two seats will be held on September 23 between 9 am to 4 pm. Counting of votes will be held in the evening on the same day. The poll process has to be competed before September 25.

Related posts

Leave a Reply