By-Poll Schedule For Uttar Pradesh’s Lone Rajya Sabha Seat Announced

LUCKNOW || The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday announced the poll schedule for the lone Rajya Sabha seat of Uttar Pradesh. The seat fell vacant after Tanzeem Fatima, wife of senior Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Mohd Azam Khan resigned following her election as a member of the UP legislative assembly in the recently held by-polls.

She resigned on November 3 while her tenure was to end on November 25, 2020.

The Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to the Council of States from Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh to fill up the said vacancies,” the poll panel said in a statement. The notification for the polls will be issued on November 25 and the last day of filing of nominations will be December 2.

Scrutiny of nominations will be done a day later and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is December 5, it was informed by the poll panel officials. Votes will be cast on December 12 between 9:00 am-4:00 pm. Counting of votes will be held on December 12 at 5 pm and the entire poll process will conclude before December 16.

Related posts

Leave a Reply